我們的開放取用政策

考科藍的開放取用承諾

考科藍開放取用計劃的更新


打開掛鎖圖示

為什麼開放取用對考科藍很重要?

變革策略再次證實了考科藍對開放取用的承諾。最遲至 2025 年,當考科藍系統性文獻回顧有新的和更新的文獻回顧發表時,可立即普遍開放取用。該策略承諾這樣做不會給文獻作者帶來經濟負擔,也不會危及慈善機構的財務維持。本頁面將說明我們如何計劃做到這一點。 

開放取用是指研究文章可免費、即時、在線上取得,以及充分重複使用的權利。開放取用是考科藍的核心任務,通過使我們的證據可供所有人存取、使用和獲得,提供了實現我們策略目標的機會,從而為健康和護理決策提供資訊。開放取用將使每個人都能透過閱讀和使用我們的證據而受益,使研究結果能夠更快、更廣泛地傳播,並有助於加速研究以及在政策和實踐中使用證據。

考科藍對於自 2013 年以來建立的免費取用服務感到自豪,所有考科藍文獻回顧在出版後 12 個月免費提供,所有計劃書在出版後免費提供。我們還有幾個國家取用計劃,其中包括中、低收入國家的國家取用和公益取用。有關目前對考科藍文獻開放取用政策的概述,請參見此處


輪廓圖示

為什麼我們需要一個三到四年的規劃圖來提供開放取用?

考科藍正在評估我們如何為開放取用找到持續性的商業模式,以便我們為開放取用的未來做好準備。我們的開放取用規劃始於 2021 年,目標為在 2025 年為所有考科藍文獻提供開放啟用。

考科藍的理事會了解到,在 2025 年實現所有考科藍文獻回顧的完全開放取用是一個具有挑戰性的目標,但建議的時程表將提供我們時間規劃且可持續的邁向開放取用。主要考慮的因素包括:

  • 由於目前考科藍有 80% 的核心收入來自我們的出版收入,是時候要管理這種商業出版模式變化。
  • 在 2021 年時,我們審查和分析了目前開放取用的業務模式後,沒有一種適合作為 “現成” 的解決方案,但存在調整和創新這些模式的機會。與利益關係者一同探討我們如何調整和組成新的執行模式是我們 2022 年的工作重點。
  • 在轉向開放取用商業模式後,考科藍將面臨出版收入減少。這意味著我們需要時間來改變文獻製作發布的相關流程,並試著降低成本。 
  • 未來我們還會投資考科藍圖書館的產品開發,這可以通過增加非開放取用內容的收入,來幫助補貼已開放取用項目,並允許我們繼續使用訂閱產品。一些開發計劃需要時間來交付和確認。
  • 預期未來出版收入減少意味著考科藍需要尋求多樣化的資金來源,以便我們能夠在 2025 年之前減少對出版收入的依賴。作為我們多元化收入計劃的一部分,考科藍正在投資一項新的募款策略,我們希望提高考科藍其他產品的商業化程度,並考慮投資新產品機會。然而,現在在募款和多元投資方面需要時間才能獲得報酬。

考科藍正在積極尋找可延續的開放取用資助模式,並將與我們的資助者和主要利益關係者合作,以確保最終模式和過渡時期不會使考科藍面臨風險並保護考科藍為世界提供的獨特價值——支持透過可信賴、高品質、及時和相關的系統性文獻回顧所得出的證據來做出決策。


輪廓圖示

考科藍在 2022 年將如何應對?

考科藍正在開展一項研究和諮詢計畫,該計畫從 2021 年開始,將持續到 2022 年 10 月,以確定可行的商業模式和開放取用的途徑。這個過渡計畫將於今年底前由考科藍理事會批准,並確認如何從 2025 年開始為考科藍文獻回顧提供完全開放取用、並同時可以支持這點的商業模式,以及這對考科藍未來收入、審查作業和出版過程之成本所產生的影響。

此計畫由出版和技術總監 Charlotte Pestridge 領導,與考科藍圖書館產品和出版團隊合作,並由考科藍理事會和理事會成員組成的開放取用工作小組指導和監督。我們還聘請了開放取用顧問Virginia Barbour來幫助確定、指導、評估和驗證我們的開放取用工作。Virginia 是澳州開放獲取計畫的主任和S 計劃大使。

在研究和諮詢階段,我們將邀請以下考科藍利益關係者和專家共同參加和協商:

  • 考科藍資助者
  • 考科藍作者及其附屬機構
  • 考科藍圖書館訂閱戶和國家授權客戶
  • 出版業和開放取用專家
  • 其他也正在邁向開放取用過渡期的學會、期刊和出版商

紙和筆圖示

想了解更多關於考科藍開放取用相關資訊嗎?

我們相信上述方法能夠確保我們實現開放取用承諾。  如果您有任何問題,想對考科藍的開放取用計劃發表評論、參與諮詢過程、更積極地參與 考科藍的開放取用計畫,請聯繫openaccess@cochrane.org

在接下來的幾個月裡,我們將分享更多關於我們開放取用的研究和諮詢計畫相關資訊,包括:

  1. 我們正在研究和考慮的開放取用模式
  2. 我們為考科藍圖書館規劃的產品開發
  3. 與主要利益關係人協商的開放取用的結果 
  4. 更新考科藍收入和資金的多元化策略和計劃

Our open access strategy

Cochrane's Open Access commitment

An update on Cochrane's plans for open access.


Open padlock icon

Why is open access important to Cochrane?

Strategy for Change re-confirms Cochrane's commitment to open access. By 2025 at the latest Cochrane will achieve universal open access to Cochrane systematic reviews immediately on publication for both new and updated reviews. The strategy commits to do this without placing the financial burden on review authors and without risking the financial sustainability of the Charity. This page explains how we plan to do that. 

Open access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles combined with the rights to re-use these outputs fully. Open access is at the heart of Cochrane's mission and provides an opportunity to deliver our strategic goal to inform health and care decisions by making our evidence accessible, usable and available to all. Open access will allow everyone to benefit from reading and using our evidence, will enable results to be disseminated more rapidly and widely, and will help to accelerate research and the use of evidence in policy and practice.

Cochrane is proud of the free access offering we have established since 2013, with all Cochrane Reviews freely available 12 month's after publication and all protocols freely available on publication. We also have several national access programmes which include national licenses and philanthropic access in low- and middle-income countries. For an overview of Cochrane's current open access policy for Cochrane Reviews please see here.


Silhouette icon

Why do we need a three-to-four-year roadmap to deliver open access?

Cochrane is in the process of assessing how we find a sustainable business model for open access so that we can be prepared for an open access future. Our roadmap to open access started in 2021 and aims to deliver open access for all Cochrane Reviews by 2025.

The Cochrane Governing Board recognise that achieving full open access for all Cochrane Reviews by 2025 is a challenging objective but the proposed timeline will give us time to support a planned and sustainable move to open access. Key considerations include:

  • Time to manage a publishing business model change of this scale as currently 80% of Cochrane's central income is from our publishing income.
  • Our 2021 review and analysis of current open access business models confirms that none are suitable as ‘off the shelf' solutions, but the opportunity exists to adapt and innovate these models. Working with our stakeholders to understand how we can adapt and combine models is the focus of our work in 2022.
  • Cochrane will see a reduction in publishing income from any open access business model we move to. This means that we need time to implement changes in our review production and publishing systems and processes to reduce our cost base accordingly. 
  • We will also be investing in product development opportunities for the Cochrane Library that could help subsidise open access by increasing the value of our non-open access content and allow us to continue with a subscription product. Some development initiatives will take time to deliver and validate.
  • The expected reduction in publishing income means that Cochrane is looking to diversity our funding so that we can reduce our dependency on publishing income by 2025. As part of our revenue diversification plans Cochrane is investing in a new fundraising strategy and we are looking to increase the commercialisation of Cochrane's other products and consider investment in new product opportunities. However, investment now in fundraising and diversification will take time to deliver returns.

Cochrane is proactively looking for a sustainable open access funding model and will work with our funders and key stakeholders to ensure that the final model and timing of the transition does not put Cochrane at risk and protects the unique value Cochrane provides to the world – supporting evidence based decision making through the production and dissemination of trusted, high quality, timely and relevant systematic reviews.


Silhouette icon

How is Cochrane responding in 2022?

Cochrane is running a research and consultation project that started in 2021 and will run through to October 2022 to identify a viable business model and pathway to open access. The transition plan due to be approved by the Cochrane Governing Board by the end of the year will confirm how Cochrane could deliver full open access for Cochrane Reviews from 2025, the business models that could support this, and the impact and implications this would have on Cochrane's future income and review production and publishing process and costs.

The project is being led by Charlotte Pestridge, Director of Publishing and Technology, working with the Cochrane Library product and publishing teams, and with guidance and oversight from an Open Access Working Group made up of Cochrane Governing Board and Council members. We have also engaged an open access consultant, Virginia Barbour, to help scope, guide, assess and validate our open access work. Virginia is the Director of Open Access Australasia and a Plan S ambassador.

During the research and consultation phase we will be engaging and consulting with the following Cochrane stakeholder and expert groups:

  • Cochrane funders
  • Cochrane authors and their affiliated institutions
  • Cochrane Library subscription and national license customers
  • Publishing industry and open access experts
  • Other societies, journals and publishers transitioning to open access

Paper and pen icon

Want to know more about Cochrane's open access project?

We believe the approach set out above will ensure we can deliver on our open access commitment.  If you have any questions, want to comment on Cochrane's open access plans, be part of the consultation process or be more actively involved in Cochrane's open access project please contact openaccess@cochrane.org.

Over the next few months we will share more information about our open access research and consultation project including:

  1. The open access models we are researching and considering
  2. The product development we are planning for the Cochrane Library
  3. Findings from the open access consultation with key stakeholders 
  4. Update on Cochrane's revenue and funding diversification strategy and plans