Notre nom


Le Professeur Archibald Leman Cochrane, CBE FRCP FFCM (1909-1988),
(portrait composé de centaines de photos de contributeurs Cochrane)

Pourquoi « Cochrane » ?
Cochrane porte le nom du médecin et chercheur britannique Archie Cochrane, qui a joué un rôle essentiel dans le développement de l'épidémiologie en tant que science.

Archie Cochrane est surtout connu pour son influent ouvrage Effectiveness and Efficiency: Random Reflections on Health Services, publié en 1972 [1]. Les principes qu'il y expose sont simples et d'une grande clarté : sachant que les ressources seront toujours limitées, il faut les utiliser pour assurer de façon équitable les soins de santé dont l’efficacité a été démontrée par des évaluations correctement conçues. Il insiste donc sur l’importance des données probantes issues d’essais contrôlés randomisés (ECR), qui ont plus de chances de constituer des informations fiables que les autres sources de preuves. L’importance fondatrice des propositions toutes simples d’Archie Cochrane a rapidement été reconnue par le grand public aussi bien que par les professionnels.

En 1979, il écrivait : « On peut sans conteste reprocher à notre profession de n’avoir pas prévu de faire des résumés critiques de tous les essais contrôlés randomisés pertinents, par spécialité ou sous-spécialité, en les actualisant périodiquement. » [2] Ce défi donnera naissance, dans les années 1980, à une collaboration internationale destinée à constituer la Base de données d’Oxford des essais périnataux.

En 1987, l’année précédant sa mort, Archie Cochrane évoque une revue systématique des ECR sur les soins pendant la grossesse et l’accouchement, qu’il qualifie de « vrai jalon dans l’histoire des essais randomisés et dans l’évaluation des soins ». Il suggère que les autres spécialités devraient s’inspirer des méthodes employées. [3] Son encouragement et l’adoption de ses idées par d’autres aboutiront à l’ouverture du premier Centre Cochrane (à Oxford en Angleterre) en 1992, et à la fondation de la Collaboration Cochrane en 1993.


Œuvres par et sur Archie Cochrane

Cochrane AL. Effectiveness and Efficiency. Random Reflections on Health Services. Londres : Nuffield Provincial Hospitals Trust, 1972. (Réédité en 1989 en association avec le BMJ, réimprimé en 1999 pour le Nuffield Trust par Royal Society of Medicine Press, Londres (ISBN 1-85315-394-X .) [1]

Cochrane AL. 1931-1971: a critical review, with particular reference to the medical profession. Dans : Medicines for the year 2000. Londres : Office of Health Economics, 1979, 1-11. [2]

Cochrane AL. Avant-propos. Dans : Chalmers I, Enkin M, Keirse MJNC (éds.). Effective care in pregnancy and childbirth. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1989. [3]

Dickersin K and Manheimer E. The Cochrane Collaboration: Evaluation of health care and services using systematic reviews of the results of randomised controlled trials. Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology 41(2):315-331, 1998. Contient un excellent récit de la manière dont la vision d’Archie Cochrane a inspiré d’autres acteurs et abouti à la fondation de la Collaboration Cochrane.

Archie Cochrane: Back to the front, édité par F. Xavier Bosch, prend pour point de départ l’expérience d’Archie Cochrane durant la Guerre d’Espagne pour discuter de sa vie, de son œuvre et de son influence sur la création et le développement de la Collaboration Cochrane. L’ouvrage inclut un commentaire de divers proches, parents, amis et collègues. Il peut être commandé au prix de 75,00 euros (£ 52,00) à l’aide de ce formulaire de commande.

One man's medicine: an autobiography of Professor Archie Cochrane. A. L. Cochrane, Max Blythe. Cardiff : Cardiff University. 2009. Nouvelle édition. 303 pages, 14 planches, 16 figures. ISBN 978-0-9540884-3-9. [Commande en ligne directement auprès de l’Université de Cardiff (Lindsay Roberts, Health Library, Cochrane Building, Cardiff University, Heath Park, Cardiff, CF14 4YU, Royaume-Uni) ou sur Amazon.co.uk.]

Partager/Enregistrer

Les traductions sur ce site ont été rendues possibles grâce à la contribution financière du Ministère français des affaires sociales et de la santé et des instituts publics de recherche canadiens. Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations à propos de notre projet de traduction.

Our name


Professor Archibald Leman Cochrane, CBE FRCP FFCM, (1909-1988)
(as depicted by a composite of hundreds of photos of Cochrane contributors)

Why 'Cochrane'?
Cochrane is named in honour of Archie Cochrane, a British medical researcher who contributed greatly to the development of epidemiology as a science.

Archie Cochrane is best known for his influential book, Effectiveness and Efficiency: Random Reflections on Health Services, published in 1972 [1]. The principles he set out in it so clearly were straightforward: he suggested that, because resources would always be limited, they should be used to provide equitably those forms of health care which had been shown in properly designed evaluations to be effective. In particular, he stressed the importance of using evidence from randomized controlled trials (RCTs) because these were likely to provide much more reliable information than other sources of evidence. Cochrane's simple propositions were soon widely recognised as seminally important - by lay people as well as by health professionals.

In 1979 he wrote, "It is surely a great criticism of our profession that we have not organised a critical summary, by specialty or subspecialty, adapted periodically, of all relevant randomised controlled trials."[2] His challenge led to the establishment during the 1980s of an international collaboration to develop the Oxford Database of Perinatal Trials.

In 1987, the year before Cochrane died, he referred to a systematic review of RCTs of care during pregnancy and childbirth as "a real milestone in the history of randomized trials and in the evaluation of care", and suggested that other specialties should copy the methods used.[3] His encouragement, and the endorsement of his views by others, led to the opening of the first Cochrane Centre (in Oxford, UK) in 1992 and the founding of The Cochrane Collaboration in 1993.


Works by and about Archie Cochrane

Cochrane AL. Effectiveness and Efficiency. Random Reflections on Health Services. London: Nuffield Provincial Hospitals Trust, 1972. (Reprinted in 1989 in association with the BMJ, Reprinted in 1999 for Nuffield Trust by the Royal Society of Medicine Press, London (ISBN 1-85315-394-X) .) [1]

Cochrane AL. 1931-1971: a critical review, with particular reference to the medical profession. In: Medicines for the year 2000. London: Office of Health Economics, 1979, 1-11. [2]

Cochrane AL. Foreword. In: Chalmers I, Enkin M, Keirse MJNC, eds. Effective care in pregnancy and childbirth. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1989. [3]

Dickersin K and Manheimer E. The Cochrane Collaboration: Evaluation of health care and services using systematic reviews of the results of randomised controlled trials. Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology 41(2):315-331, 1998. Provides an excellent account of how Archie Cochrane's vision inspired others, leading ultimately to the founding of The Cochrane Collaboration.

Archie Cochrane: Back to the front, edited by F. Xavier Bosch, uses Archie Cochrane's experiences in the Spanish civil war as a starting point to discuss his life and work, and his influence on the founding and development of The Cochrane Collaboration. Includes commentary from a diverse group of family, friends and colleagues. Copies of the book are available for €75.00 (GBP £52.00); to order, use this order form.

One man's medicine : an autobiography of Professor Archie Cochrane. A. L. Cochrane ; Max Blythe. Cardiff : Cardiff University. 2009. New ed. 303 pages, 14 plates, 16 figures. ISBN 978-0-9540884-3-9. [Order online directly from Cardiff University (Lindsay Roberts, Health Library, Cochrane Building, Cardiff University, Heath Park, Cardiff, CF14 4YU, UK) or via Amazon.co.uk.]

Share/Save