L’impact de notre travail

Découvrez l’impact du travail de Cochrane à l’échelle mondiale. La collection ’Ce que notre travail permet d’accomplir’ est un ensemble d'exemples de situations où les données probantes Cochrane ont eu un impact sur les soins de santé et les politiques mondiales. Elle met en évidence comment Cochrane travaille avec des organisations comme l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé et Wikipedia ; ainsi que la façon dont nos preuves ont un impact sur la vie quotidienne.

Ce que notre travail permet d’accomplir


Notre logo raconte une histoire

CochraneLe cercle formé de deux « C » symbolise notre collaboration planétaire. Les lignes à l’intérieur représentent les résultats résumés d'une revue systématique emblématique. Chaque ligne horizontale représente le résultat d’une étude et le losange le résultat combiné, autrement dit notre avis sur l’intérêt ou les risques du traitement. Le losange est placé bien à gauche du trait vertical qui marque l'absence de différence, pour montrer que les données probantes indiquent un résultat bénéfique. Cette représentation s'appelle un « diagramme en forêt ». Le diagramme en forêt de notre logo illustre un exemple du potentiel d’amélioration des soins de santé que représentent les revues systématiques : il montre que l’administration de corticoïdes aux femmes à risque d’accouchement prématuré peut sauver la vie de leur enfant à la naissance.

Bien que de nombreux essais aient démontré l’effet bénéfique des corticoïdes, les obstétriciens ont été longs à les adopter. La revue systématique, initialement publiée par Crowley et al. et actualisée par la suite, a joué un rôle influent dans la diffusion de ce traitement. Une intervention simple, qui a probablement sauvé la vie de milliers de prématurés.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'utilisation du logo Cochrane, veuillez consulter notre " Logo et politique d'approbation " sur le site de la communauté Cochrane.

Cliquez pour savoir comment Cochrane a changé des vies

Fermer

Le nom de Cochrane

Cochrane porte le nom du médecin et chercheur britannique Archie Cochrane, qui a joué un rôle essentiel dans le développement de l'épidémiologie en tant que science.

En savoir plus sur Archie Cochrane

Le Professeur Archibald Leman Cochrane, CBE FRCP FFCM (1909-1988),(portrait composé de centaines de photos de contributeurs Cochrane)Archie Cochrane est surtout connu pour son influent ouvrage Effectiveness and Efficiency : Random Reflections on Health Services, publié en 1972 [1]. Les principes qu'il y expose sont simples et d'une grande clarté : sachant que les ressources seront toujours limitées, il faut les utiliser pour assurer de façon équitable les soins de santé dont l’efficacité a été démontrée par des évaluations correctement conçues. Il insiste donc sur l’importance des données probantes issues d’essais contrôlés randomisés (ECR), qui ont plus de chances de constituer des informations fiables que les autres sources de preuves. L’importance fondatrice des propositions simples d’Archie Cochrane sera rapidement reconnue, aussi bien par les non-initiés que par les professionnels de la santé.

En 1979, il écrivit : « Il s'agit assurément d'une grande critique à adresser à notre profession, que nous n'ayons pas organisé un résumé critique, par spécialité ou sous-spécialité, adapté périodiquement, de tous les essais contrôlés randomisés pertinents. »[2] Son défi conduisit à l'établissement, dans les années 1980, d'une collaboration internationale qui développa le Oxford Database of Perinatal Trials.

En 1987, une année avant sa mort, Cochrane fit référence a une revue systématique d'ECR de soins durant la grossesse et l'accouchement, la considérant comme « un véritable jalon dans l'histoire des essais randomisés et dans l'évaluation des soins », et suggéra que d'autres spécialités copient les méthodes utilisées.[3] Ses encouragement et l'approbation de ses vue par d'autres conduisirent à l'ouverture du premier centre Cochrane (à Oxford, au Royaume-Uni) en 1992 et à la fondation de la Collaboration Cochrane en 1993.

Œuvres par et sur Archie Cochrane

Cochrane AL. Effectiveness and Efficiency. Random Reflections on Health Services. London: Nuffield Provincial Hospitals Trust, 1972. (Réédité en 1989 en association avec le BMJ, réimprimé en 1999 pour le Nuffield Trust par Royal Society of Medicine Press, Londres (ISBN 1-85315-394-X.) [1]

Cochrane AL. 1931-1971: a critical review, with particular reference to the medical profession. Dans : Medicines for the year 2000. London: Office of Health Economics, 1979, 1-11. [2]

Cochrane AL. Foreword. Dans : Chalmers I, Enkin M, Keirse MJNC (éds.). Effective care in pregnancy and childbirth. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1989. [3]

Dickersin K and Manheimer E. The Cochrane Collaboration: Evaluation of health care and services using systematic reviews of the results of randomised controlled trials. Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology 41(2):315-331, 1998. Contient un excellent récit de la manière dont la vision d’Archie Cochrane a inspiré d’autres acteurs et abouti à la fondation de la Collaboration Cochrane.

Archie Cochrane : Back to the front,édité par F. Xavier Bosch, prend pour point de départ l’expérience d’Archie Cochrane durant la Guerre d’Espagne pour discuter de sa vie, de son œuvre et de son influence sur la création et le développement de la Collaboration Cochrane. L’ouvrage inclut un commentaire de divers proches, parents, amis et collègues. Il peut être commandé au prix de 75,00 euros (£ 52,00) à l’aide de ce formulaire de commande.

One man's medicine: an autobiography of Professor Archie Cochrane. A. L. Cochrane ; Max Blythe. Cardiff : Cardiff University. 2009. Nouvelle édition. 303 pages, 14 planches, 16 figures. ISBN 978-0-9540884-3-9. [Commande en ligne directement auprès de l’Université de Cardiff (Lindsay Roberts, Health Library, Cochrane Building, Cardiff University, Heath Park, Cardiff, CF14 4YU, Royaume-Uni) ou sur Amazon.co.uk.]

Fermer
Share/Save

Les traductions sur ce site ont été rendues possibles grâce à la contribution financière du Ministère français des affaires sociales et de la santé et des instituts publics de recherche canadiens.

The difference we make

Find out how Cochrane's evidence is having global impact. Cochrane's The Difference We Make Collection is a set of examples where Cochrane evidence has made an impact to global healthcare and policy. It highlights how Cochrane works with organizations such as the World Health Organization and Wikipedia; as well as how our evidence makes a difference to everyday lives.

The Difference We Make Collection


Our logo tells a story

CochraneThe circle formed by two 'C' shapes represents our global collaboration. The lines within illustrate the summary results from an iconic systematic review. Each horizontal line represents the results of one study, while the diamond represents the combined result, our best estimate of whether the treatment is effective or harmful. The diamond sits clearly to the left of the vertical line representing "no difference", therefore the evidence indicates that the treatment is beneficial. We call this representation a "forest plot". This forest plot within our logo illustrates an example of the potential for systematic reviews to improve health care. It shows that corticosteroids given to women who are about to give birth prematurely can save the life of the newborn child.

Despite several trials showing the benefit of corticosteroids, adoption of the treatment among obstetricians was slow. The systematic review (originally published by Crowley et al. and subsequently updated) was influential in increasing use of this treatment. This simple intervention has probably saved thousands of premature babies.

For more information on using the Cochrane logo, please see our 'Logo and endorsement policy' on the Cochrane Community site.

Click to hear how Cochrane has changed lives

Close

Cochrane's name

Cochrane is named in honour of Archie Cochrane, a British medical researcher who contributed greatly to the development of epidemiology as a science.

Find out more about Archie Cochrane

Professor Archibald Leman Cochrane, CBE FRCP FFCM, (1909-1988) (as depicted by a composite of hundreds of photos of Cochrane contributors)Archie Cochrane is best known for his influential book, Effectiveness and Efficiency: Random Reflections on Health Services, published in 1972 [1]. The principles he set out in it so clearly were straightforward: he suggested that, because resources would always be limited, they should be used to provide equitably those forms of health care which had been shown in properly designed evaluations to be effective. In particular, he stressed the importance of using evidence from randomized controlled trials (RCTs) because these were likely to provide much more reliable information than other sources of evidence. Cochrane's simple propositions were soon widely recognised as seminally important - by lay people as well as by health professionals.

In 1979 he wrote, "It is surely a great criticism of our profession that we have not organised a critical summary, by specialty or subspecialty, adapted periodically, of all relevant randomised controlled trials."[2] His challenge led to the establishment during the 1980s of an international collaboration to develop the Oxford Database of Perinatal Trials.

In 1987, the year before Cochrane died, he referred to a systematic review of RCTs of care during pregnancy and childbirth as "a real milestone in the history of randomized trials and in the evaluation of care", and suggested that other specialties should copy the methods used.[3] His encouragement, and the endorsement of his views by others, led to the opening of the first Cochrane Centre (in Oxford, UK) in 1992 and the founding of The Cochrane Collaboration in 1993.

Works by and about Archie Cochrane

Cochrane AL. Effectiveness and Efficiency. Random Reflections on Health Services. London: Nuffield Provincial Hospitals Trust, 1972. (Reprinted in 1989 in association with the BMJ, Reprinted in 1999 for Nuffield Trust by the Royal Society of Medicine Press, London (ISBN 1-85315-394-X).) [1]

Cochrane AL. 1931-1971: a critical review, with particular reference to the medical profession. In: Medicines for the year 2000. London: Office of Health Economics, 1979, 1-11. [2]

Cochrane AL. Foreword. In: Chalmers I, Enkin M, Keirse MJNC, eds. Effective care in pregnancy and childbirth. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1989. [3]

Dickersin K and Manheimer E. The Cochrane Collaboration: Evaluation of health care and services using systematic reviews of the results of randomised controlled trials. Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology 41(2):315-331, 1998. Provides an excellent account of how Archie Cochrane's vision inspired others, leading ultimately to the founding of The Cochrane Collaboration.

Archie Cochrane: Back to the front, edited by F. Xavier Bosch, uses Archie Cochrane's experiences in the Spanish civil war as a starting point to discuss his life and work, and his influence on the founding and development of The Cochrane Collaboration. Includes commentary from a diverse group of family, friends and colleagues. Copies of the book are available for €75.00 (GBP £52.00); to order, use this order form.

One man's medicine : an autobiography of Professor Archie Cochrane. A. L. Cochrane ; Max Blythe. Cardiff : Cardiff University. 2009. New ed. 303 pages, 14 plates, 16 figures. ISBN 978-0-9540884-3-9. [Order online directly from Cardiff University (Lindsay Roberts, Health Library, Cochrane Building, Cardiff University, Heath Park, Cardiff, CF14 4YU, UK) or via Amazon.co.uk.]

Close
Share/Save