我们带来的不同

查看Cochrane的证据在全球的影响力。Cochrane协作网的不同之处在于它收集了一系列的临床研究数据,由此产生出的Cochrane证据对全球医疗保健和政策产生了深远影响。它强调了Cochrane如何与世界卫生组织(WHO)和维基百科(Wikipedia)等组织的合作,以及证据如何对日常生活产生影响。

我们带来的不同


Cochrane标志背后的故事

由两个“C”形构成的圆圈代表Cochrane是一个全球协作网。图内的线段表示的是一项标志性系统评价的汇总结果。每条水平线代表一项原始研究的结果,而菱形则是所有研究的综合结果,据此做出该疗法是否有益的最佳评估。菱形明显落在垂直线(”无差异“线)的左侧,表示当前证据支持该治疗是有益的。我们将这种图形称为“森林图”。嵌在Cochranes标志中的森林图是一项改善了医疗保健决策的系统评价的真实例子。该图表示,产前给予孕妇糖皮质激素可以提高早产儿存活率。

尽管此前的几项试验证实了皮质类固醇的疗效,但在当时的产科医生中的使用率并不高。该系统评价的发表(由Crowley等人首次发表,之后被更新)使该疗法的使用大大增加。这种简单的干预措施大概已经挽救了数以千计的早产儿生命。

更多有关Cochrane标志的使用信息,请访问Cochrane协作网的“标志和授权政策”页面。

点击这里以了解Cochrane是如何改变日常生活的。

关闭

Cochrane名字的由来

Cochrane是为了纪念英国医学家Archie Cochrane而命名的,他为流行病学作为一门科学的发展做出了巨大贡献。

了解更多Archie Cochrane的资料

Archie Cochrane最著名的著作是他的Archibald Leman Cochrane教授,CBE、FRCP、 FFCM,(1909-1988)(照片由数百名Cochrane贡献者的照片组成的合成图)《Effectiveness and Efficiency: Random Reflections on Health Services》,发表于1972年[1]。他在书中明确提出:“医疗资源终将有限,因此应该使用那些已被证实有明显效果的医疗保健措施。”他特别强调使用随机对照试验(RCTs)证据的重要性,因为随机对照试验与其他类型研究相比,可能会提供更可靠的证据。Cochrane的主张很快就得到了广泛的认可,无论非专业人士还是卫生专业人士都认为这是非常重要的。

1979年,他写道:“我们没有按专业或亚专业定期对所有相关的随机对照试验进行批判性总结,这无疑是对我们职业的极大批评。”[2]他的质疑促使在20世纪80年代成立了一个国际协作网,并开发了牛津大学围生期试验数据库。

1987年,Cochrane去世前一年,他引用了一篇关于怀孕和分娩期护理的随机对照试验的系统评价,并评价其为“随机对照试验历史上和护理评估上真正具有里程碑意义的文章”,并建议其他专科应该效仿该方法[3]。受他的鼓励,且随着人们对他观点的认可,第一个Cochrane中心于1992年在英国牛津大学成立;1993年,Cochrane协作网成立。

Archie Cochrane著作及相关文献、传记

Cochrane AL.Effectiveness and Efficiency.Random Reflections on Health Services. London: Nuffield Provincial Hospitals Trust, 1972. (Reprinted in 1989 in association with the BMJ, Reprinted in 1999 for Nuffield Trust by the Royal Society of Medicine Press, London (ISBN 1-85315-394-X).) [1]

Cochrane AL.1931-1971: a critical review, with particular reference to the medical profession.In: Medicines for the year 2000. London: Office of Health Economics, 1979, 1-11. [2]

Cochrane AL.Foreword. In: Chalmers I, Enkin M, Keirse MJNC, eds. Effective care in pregnancy and childbirth.Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1989. [3]

Dickersin K and Manheimer E. The Cochrane Collaboration:Evaluation of health care and services using systematic reviews of the results of randomised controlled trials. Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology 41(2):315-331, 1998.这篇文章很好地记述了Archie Cochrane的愿景是如何激励他人、并最终促成了Cochrane协作网的成立。

《Archie Cochrane:Back to the front》一书的主编为F. Xavier Bosch,该书以Archie Cochrane在西班牙内战期间的经历为出发点,探讨了他的生活、工作以及其对于Cochrane协作网创建和发展的影响。书中还收录了来自其家庭、朋友及同事等对他的评价。支付€75.00(GBP £52.00)即可够得此书的副本;如需订购,请使用此订购表。

One man's medicine : an autobiography of Professor Archie Cochrane.A. L. cCochrane ; Max Blythe. Cardiff : Cardiff University. 2009. New ed. 303 pages, 14 plates, 16 figures. ISBN 978-0-9540884-3-9. [可直接从卡迪夫大学 (Lindsay Roberts, Health Library, Cochrane Building, Cardiff University, Heath Park, Cardiff, CF14 4YU, UK) 在网订购,或者通过Amazon.co.uk.购买]

关闭
Share/Save

The difference we make

Find out how Cochrane's evidence is having global impact. Cochrane's The Difference We Make Collection is a set of examples where Cochrane evidence has made an impact to global healthcare and policy. It highlights how Cochrane works with organizations such as the World Health Organization and Wikipedia; as well as how our evidence makes a difference to everyday lives.

The Difference We Make Collection


Our logo tells a story

CochraneThe circle formed by two 'C' shapes represents our global collaboration. The lines within illustrate the summary results from an iconic systematic review. Each horizontal line represents the results of one study, while the diamond represents the combined result, our best estimate of whether the treatment is effective or harmful. The diamond sits clearly to the left of the vertical line representing "no difference", therefore the evidence indicates that the treatment is beneficial. We call this representation a "forest plot". This forest plot within our logo illustrates an example of the potential for systematic reviews to improve health care. It shows that corticosteroids given to women who are about to give birth prematurely can save the life of the newborn child.

Despite several trials showing the benefit of corticosteroids, adoption of the treatment among obstetricians was slow. The systematic review (originally published by Crowley et al. and subsequently updated) was influential in increasing use of this treatment. This simple intervention has probably saved thousands of premature babies.

For more information on using the Cochrane logo, please see our 'Logo and endorsement policy' on the Cochrane Community site.

Click to hear how Cochrane has changed lives

Close

Cochrane's name

Cochrane is named in honour of Archie Cochrane, a British medical researcher who contributed greatly to the development of epidemiology as a science.

Find out more about Archie Cochrane

Professor Archibald Leman Cochrane, CBE FRCP FFCM, (1909-1988) (as depicted by a composite of hundreds of photos of Cochrane contributors)Archie Cochrane is best known for his influential book, Effectiveness and Efficiency: Random Reflections on Health Services, published in 1972 [1]. The principles he set out in it so clearly were straightforward: he suggested that, because resources would always be limited, they should be used to provide equitably those forms of health care which had been shown in properly designed evaluations to be effective. In particular, he stressed the importance of using evidence from randomized controlled trials (RCTs) because these were likely to provide much more reliable information than other sources of evidence. Cochrane's simple propositions were soon widely recognised as seminally important - by lay people as well as by health professionals.

In 1979 he wrote, "It is surely a great criticism of our profession that we have not organised a critical summary, by specialty or subspecialty, adapted periodically, of all relevant randomised controlled trials."[2] His challenge led to the establishment during the 1980s of an international collaboration to develop the Oxford Database of Perinatal Trials.

In 1987, the year before Cochrane died, he referred to a systematic review of RCTs of care during pregnancy and childbirth as "a real milestone in the history of randomized trials and in the evaluation of care", and suggested that other specialties should copy the methods used.[3] His encouragement, and the endorsement of his views by others, led to the opening of the first Cochrane Centre (in Oxford, UK) in 1992 and the founding of The Cochrane Collaboration in 1993.

Works by and about Archie Cochrane

Cochrane AL. Effectiveness and Efficiency. Random Reflections on Health Services. London: Nuffield Provincial Hospitals Trust, 1972. (Reprinted in 1989 in association with the BMJ, Reprinted in 1999 for Nuffield Trust by the Royal Society of Medicine Press, London (ISBN 1-85315-394-X).) [1]

Cochrane AL. 1931-1971: a critical review, with particular reference to the medical profession. In: Medicines for the year 2000. London: Office of Health Economics, 1979, 1-11. [2]

Cochrane AL. Foreword. In: Chalmers I, Enkin M, Keirse MJNC, eds. Effective care in pregnancy and childbirth. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1989. [3]

Dickersin K and Manheimer E. The Cochrane Collaboration: Evaluation of health care and services using systematic reviews of the results of randomised controlled trials. Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology 41(2):315-331, 1998. Provides an excellent account of how Archie Cochrane's vision inspired others, leading ultimately to the founding of The Cochrane Collaboration.

Archie Cochrane: Back to the front, edited by F. Xavier Bosch, uses Archie Cochrane's experiences in the Spanish civil war as a starting point to discuss his life and work, and his influence on the founding and development of The Cochrane Collaboration. Includes commentary from a diverse group of family, friends and colleagues. Copies of the book are available for €75.00 (GBP £52.00); to order, use this order form.

One man's medicine : an autobiography of Professor Archie Cochrane. A. L. Cochrane ; Max Blythe. Cardiff : Cardiff University. 2009. New ed. 303 pages, 14 plates, 16 figures. ISBN 978-0-9540884-3-9. [Order online directly from Cardiff University (Lindsay Roberts, Health Library, Cochrane Building, Cardiff University, Heath Park, Cardiff, CF14 4YU, UK) or via Amazon.co.uk.]

Close
Share/Save