Der Unterschied, den wir ausmachen (The Difference We Make)

Erfahren Sie, wie Cochranes Evidenz globale Auswirkungen hat. Cochranes „The Difference We Make Collection“ ist eine Reihe von Beispielen, wie Cochranes Evidenz Auswirkungen auf die globale Gesundheitsversorgung und Politik hatte. Sie hebt hervor, wie Cochrane mit Organisation wie der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) und Wikipedia zusammenarbeitet und wie unsere Evidenz einen Unterschied im alltäglichen Leben ausmacht.

The Difference We Make Collection


Unser Logo erzählt eine Geschichte

CochraneDie beiden großen "C" bilden einen Kreis und stellen so unser weltweites Netzwerk dar. Die Linien in der Mitte stellen das zusammengefasste Ergebnis eines systematischen Reviews dar, der zum Sinnbild geworden ist. Jede horizontale Linie stellt das Ergebnis einer Studie und das Rautenzeichen ganz unten das kombinierte Ergebnis dar: die beste Schätzung, ob eine Behandlung wirksam oder schädlich ist. Das Rautenzeichen liegt deutlich links der senkrechten Linie, die anzeigt, wo "kein Unterschied zur Vergleichsbehandlung" besteht. Folglich weist die zusammengefasste Evidenz darauf hin, dass die Behandlung einen zusätzlichen Nutzen hat. Diese Darstellung wird "Forest Plot" genannt. Der Forest Plot in unserem Logo zeigt beispielhaft, welches Potential systematische Reviews zur Verbesserung der Gesundheitsversorgung haben. Konkret veranschaulicht er, dass die Gabe von Kortikosteroiden bei Frauen, die kurz vor einer frühzeitigen Geburt stehen, das Leben des Neugeborenen retten kann.

Trotz mehrerer Studien, die den Vorteil von Kortikosteroiden zeigten, wurde diese Behandlung von den Geburtshelfern nur schleppend eingeführt. Der systematische Review (ursprünglich von Crowley et al. veröffentlicht und später aktualisiert) hat entscheidend dazu beigetragen, dass diese Behandlung vermehrt eingesetzt wurde. Diese einfache Maßnahme hat wahrscheinlich schon Tausenden von Frühgeborenen das Leben gerettet.

Für weitere Informationen über die Verwendung des Cochrane-Logo, besuchen Sie bitte unsere Seite"Logo and endorsement policy" auf der Cochrane Community Website.

Klicken Sie, um zu hören wie Cochrane Leben verändert hat

Schließen

Der Name Cochrane

Cochrane ist benannt nach Archie Cochrane, einem britischen Arzt und Wissenschaftler, der einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Entwicklung der Epidemiologie als wissenschaftliche Disziplin beigetragen hat.

Mehr zu Archie Cochrane...

Archie Cochrane ist vor allem durch die Veröffentlichung seines Buchews Effectiveness and Efficiency: Random Reflections on Health Services im Jahr 1972 bekannt [1]. Random Reflections on Health Services im Jahr 1972 bekannt [1]. Was er darin vorschlug, war einfach: dass die knappen Mittel gerecht und nur für Leistungen eingesetzt werden sollten, welche sich in methodisch guten Studien als wirksam erwiesen haben. Er betonte besonders die Bedeutung von Evidenz aus randomisierten, kontrollierten Studien (sog. RCTs ), da diese viel zuverlässigere Informationen liefern können als Studien mit einem anderen Design. Archie Cochranes unkomplizierte Ansätze wurden recht schnell sowohl von Laien als auch Gesundheitsfachleuten als fundamental wichtig angesehen.

Im Jahr 1979 schrieb er: "Unser Berufstand muss sicherlich dafür kritisiert werden, dass wir die relevanten randomisierten kontrollierten Studien bisher nicht kritisch zusammengefasst, nach Fach- und Spezialgebieten geordnet und regelmässig angepasst haben."[2] Seine Kritik führte in den 1980er-Jahren zu einer internationalen Zusammmenarbeit, um die Oxford Database of Perinatal Trials zu gründen.

Im Jahr 1987, ein Jahr vor seinem Tod, bezeichnete Cochrane einen systematischen Review von RCTs zur Versorgung während Schwangerschaft und Geburt als "echten Meilenstein in der Geschichte der randomisierten Studien und der Bewertung der Gesundheitsversorgung", und schlug vor, dass andere Fachgebiete die angewandte Methodik übernehmen sollten.[3] Seine frühe Unterstützung und die Tatsache, dass andere seine Ansichten teilten, führte 1992 zur Eröffnung des ersten Cochrane Zentrums in Oxford (UK) und 1993 zur Gründung der Cochrane Collaboration.

Arbeiten von und über Archie Cochrane

Cochrane AL. Effectiveness and Efficiency.  Random Reflections on Health Services. London: Nuffield Provincial Hospitals Trust, 1972. Nachdruck: 1989 zusammen mit BMJ; 1999 für den Nuffield Trust durch die Royal Society of Medicine Press, London (ISBN 1-85315-394-X).[1]

Cochrane AL. 1931-1971: a critical review, with particular reference to the medical profession. In: Medicines for the year 2000. London: Office of Health Economics, 1979, 1-11. [2]

Cochrane AL. Vorwort. In: Chalmers I, Enkin M, Keirse MJNC, Hrsg. Effective care in pregnancy and childbirth. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1989. [3]

Dickersin K and Manheimer E. The Cochrane Collaboration: Evaluation of health care and services using systematic reviews of the results of randomised controlled trials. Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology 41(2):315-331, 1998. Gibt einen ausgezeichneten Einblick, wie Archie Cochranes Vision andere inspiriert hat und schließlich zur Gründung der Cochrane Collaboration geführt hat.

Archie Cochrane: Back to the front. Herausgegeben von Xavier Bosch. Ausgehend von Archie Cochranes Erfahrung während des Spanischen Bürgerkriegs wird sein Leben und Werk und sein Einfluss auf die Gründung und den Aufbau der Cochrane Collaboration dargestellt. Enthält Beiträge von diversen Personen aus Familie, Freundes- und Kollegenkreis. Exemplare können für €75.00 (£52.00) mit diesem Formular bestellt werden.

One man's medicine: an autobiography of Professor Archie Cochrane. A. L. Cochrane; Max Blythe. Cardiff: Cardiff University. 2009. Neue Ausgabe 303 Seiten, 14 Tafeln, 16 Abbildungen. SBN 978-0-9540884-3-9. [Online bestellen direkt bei der Cardiff Universität (Lindsay Roberts, Health Library, Cochrane Building, Cardiff University, Heath Park, Cardiff, CF14 4YU, UK) oder über Amazon.co.uk.]

Schließen
Share/Save

The difference we make

Find out how Cochrane's evidence is having global impact. Cochrane's The Difference We Make Collection is a set of examples where Cochrane evidence has made an impact to global healthcare and policy. It highlights how Cochrane works with organizations such as the World Health Organization and Wikipedia; as well as how our evidence makes a difference to everyday lives.

The Difference We Make Collection


Our logo tells a story

CochraneThe circle formed by two 'C' shapes represents our global collaboration. The lines within illustrate the summary results from an iconic systematic review. Each horizontal line represents the results of one study, while the diamond represents the combined result, our best estimate of whether the treatment is effective or harmful. The diamond sits clearly to the left of the vertical line representing "no difference", therefore the evidence indicates that the treatment is beneficial. We call this representation a "forest plot". This forest plot within our logo illustrates an example of the potential for systematic reviews to improve health care. It shows that corticosteroids given to women who are about to give birth prematurely can save the life of the newborn child.

Despite several trials showing the benefit of corticosteroids, adoption of the treatment among obstetricians was slow. The systematic review (originally published by Crowley et al. and subsequently updated) was influential in increasing use of this treatment. This simple intervention has probably saved thousands of premature babies.

For more information on using the Cochrane logo, please see our 'Logo and endorsement policy' on the Cochrane Community site.

Click to hear how Cochrane has changed lives

Close

Cochrane's name

Cochrane is named in honour of Archie Cochrane, a British medical researcher who contributed greatly to the development of epidemiology as a science.

Find out more about Archie Cochrane

Professor Archibald Leman Cochrane, CBE FRCP FFCM, (1909-1988) (as depicted by a composite of hundreds of photos of Cochrane contributors)Archie Cochrane is best known for his influential book, Effectiveness and Efficiency: Random Reflections on Health Services, published in 1972 [1]. The principles he set out in it so clearly were straightforward: he suggested that, because resources would always be limited, they should be used to provide equitably those forms of health care which had been shown in properly designed evaluations to be effective. In particular, he stressed the importance of using evidence from randomized controlled trials (RCTs) because these were likely to provide much more reliable information than other sources of evidence. Cochrane's simple propositions were soon widely recognised as seminally important - by lay people as well as by health professionals.

In 1979 he wrote, "It is surely a great criticism of our profession that we have not organised a critical summary, by specialty or subspecialty, adapted periodically, of all relevant randomised controlled trials."[2] His challenge led to the establishment during the 1980s of an international collaboration to develop the Oxford Database of Perinatal Trials.

In 1987, the year before Cochrane died, he referred to a systematic review of RCTs of care during pregnancy and childbirth as "a real milestone in the history of randomized trials and in the evaluation of care", and suggested that other specialties should copy the methods used.[3] His encouragement, and the endorsement of his views by others, led to the opening of the first Cochrane Centre (in Oxford, UK) in 1992 and the founding of The Cochrane Collaboration in 1993.

Works by and about Archie Cochrane

Cochrane AL. Effectiveness and Efficiency. Random Reflections on Health Services. London: Nuffield Provincial Hospitals Trust, 1972. (Reprinted in 1989 in association with the BMJ, Reprinted in 1999 for Nuffield Trust by the Royal Society of Medicine Press, London (ISBN 1-85315-394-X).) [1]

Cochrane AL. 1931-1971: a critical review, with particular reference to the medical profession. In: Medicines for the year 2000. London: Office of Health Economics, 1979, 1-11. [2]

Cochrane AL. Foreword. In: Chalmers I, Enkin M, Keirse MJNC, eds. Effective care in pregnancy and childbirth. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1989. [3]

Dickersin K and Manheimer E. The Cochrane Collaboration: Evaluation of health care and services using systematic reviews of the results of randomised controlled trials. Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology 41(2):315-331, 1998. Provides an excellent account of how Archie Cochrane's vision inspired others, leading ultimately to the founding of The Cochrane Collaboration.

Archie Cochrane: Back to the front, edited by F. Xavier Bosch, uses Archie Cochrane's experiences in the Spanish civil war as a starting point to discuss his life and work, and his influence on the founding and development of The Cochrane Collaboration. Includes commentary from a diverse group of family, friends and colleagues. Copies of the book are available for €75.00 (GBP £52.00); to order, use this order form.

One man's medicine : an autobiography of Professor Archie Cochrane. A. L. Cochrane ; Max Blythe. Cardiff : Cardiff University. 2009. New ed. 303 pages, 14 plates, 16 figures. ISBN 978-0-9540884-3-9. [Order online directly from Cardiff University (Lindsay Roberts, Health Library, Cochrane Building, Cardiff University, Heath Park, Cardiff, CF14 4YU, UK) or via Amazon.co.uk.]

Close
Share/Save