Cochrane election results and appointments to the Governing Board

Cochrane election results and appointments to the Governing Board

We are delighted to announce the results of the recent elections and appointments to the Governing Board:


  • Martin Burton has been appointed by the Board as its Co-Chair for a term of two years. Martin served as a member of the Board until this month, and already has substantial leadership experience in Cochrane as Director of Cochrane UK and Co-ordinating Editor of the Cochrane Ear Nose & Throat Review Group. Martin is based in Oxford, UK, and will share chairing duties with Cindy Farquhar, who is Co-ordinating Editor of the Gynaecology and Fertility Review Group, and is based in Auckland, New Zealand.

Two internal members:

The election of internal members of the Governing Board has now concluded, and you have elected the following two candidates for a term of three years:

  • Tracey Howe - director of the Cochrane Global Ageing Field and based in Glasgow, UK.
  • Joerg Meerpohl - serving Board member who has now been re-elected. Co-Director of Cochrane Germany and based in Freiburg, Germany.

Three external members:

The Board has appointed three external members of the Board for a term of three years:

  • Maria Gladys Faba Beaumont - sociologist by training and works with the National Institute of Public Health in Mexico and the Pan American Heath Organization; based in Mexico City
  • David Hammerstein Mintz - civil society advocate for the Commons Network, an organization that he co-founded, former Member of the European Parliament and based in Valencia, Spain.
  • Rae Lamb - Aged Care Complaints Commissioner for Australia and has a background in health journalism and health services research; based in Melbourne.

Cochrane congratulates and welcomes the new members and extends its grateful thanks to Lisa Bero, outgoing Co-Chair; and Mona Nasser and Denise Thomson, outgoing Board members, for their outstanding contributions to Cochrane as members of the Board.

Thursday, July 27, 2017