Podcast: المرطبات وملطفات الاكزيما

الأكزيما مرض جلدي مزمن شائع يصيب الكثير من الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم، وسوف تتحول غالبا إلى كريمات للمساعدة.  ففي بحث جديد لكوكرين عدد فبراير 2017، جمعت استير فان رورين وزملاؤها أدلة ذات صلة من حوالى 80 تجربة.

- Read transcript


"الأكزيما مرض جلدي مزمن شائع يصيب الكثير من الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم، وسوف تتحول غالبا إلى كريمات للمساعدة. ففي بحث جديد لكوكرين عدد فبراير 2017، جمعت استير فان رورين وزملاؤها أدلة ذات صلة من حوالى 80 تجربة“.

“المصابون بالأكزيما يعانون من جفاف الجلد، والبقع الحمراء وحكة شديدة قد تشعرهم بانهم “ دميمين” وبالتالي بالخجل وعدم الراحة، والضغط النفسي، وتدني احترام الذات. الهرش الليلي يمكن أيضا أن يسبب قلة النوم، مما يجعل من الصعب على المتألم التركيز في المدرسة أو في العمل (في اليوم التالي) . وعموما يمكن أن يكون للأكزيما تأثير سلبي كبير على نوعية الحياة فلا بد من إيجاد علاجات فعالة.

جفاف البشرة والحكة الناجمة عن الأكزيما يجعل من المنطقي استخدام مرطب وهذا ما يوصف غالبا وعلى نطاق واسع للمصاب بالأكزيما ويعتبر حجر الزاوية في التعامل معها. ومع ذلك، هناك حاجة لمعرفة ما إذا كانت هذه المرطبات مفيدة حقا وآمنة، وعما إذا كان هناك مرطب أفضل من الآخر. فاستخدام الكريمات المرطبة قد يستغرق وقتا، كما أنها تعلق بالملابس وأغطية السرير، ويمكن أن تترك آثارا على كل ما تلمسه. بعضها قد يكون مهيجا او لاسعا، وقد تكون بعض المكونات مسببة للحساسية. هناك اذن العديد من الأسباب للتحقق من مزايا وعيوب الكريمات المرطبة، وخاصة إذا كان استخدامها ضروريا مدى الحياة لبعض ممن يعانون من الأكزيما. ونأمل أن تساعد بحوث كوكرين الناس على اتخاذ قرارات حول استخدامها.

يغطي البحث مجموعة متنوعة من الكريمات المرطبة، مع 77 تجربة شارك فيها أكثر من ستة الاف وخمسمائة شخص. نوعية الأدلة تراوحت بين منخفضة جدا إلى عالية، ولكن في معظم الأحيان منخفضة إلى معتدلة. تراوحت أعمار المشاركين ما بين 4 أشهر إلى 84 عاما، و شدة الأكزيما في معظمها خفيفة الى معتدلة. معظم الدراسات قارنت مباشرة بين اثنين من المرطبات، مما يوفر معلومات عن أي الاثنين أكثر فعالية، ولكن لا يوضح ما إذا كان اي منهما مفيد فعلا في حد ذاته.

الانتقال إلى النتائج: معظم المرطبات قللت من شدة الأكزيما، ولكن مدى هذا التلطيف لم يعتبر مهما بما فيه الكفاية للأشخاص الذين يعانون من الأكزيما. عند المقارنة مع عدم استخدام مرطب، خفضت المرطبات عدد مرات التهيج وباعدت لفترات طويلة بين حدوث التهيجات، والامران مهمان على المستوى العلاجي. علاوة على ذلك، عند استخدام الكريمات المرطبة، تقل الحاجة لاستخدام الكورتيزون الموضعي للحصول على تحسن مماثل، مقارنة بالحالة عند عدم استخدام الكريم المرطب. معظم الدراسات لا توفر معلومات كافية عن الاثار السلبية ولكن في حالة توفيرها لهذه الاثار نجد ان الكريمات المرطبة آمنة عموما ولا يوجد إخطار بآثار سلبية.غير أن الشكوى من الكريمات التي تحتوي على الشوفان وعلى اليوريا بتسببها في لااحساس بالوخز واللذع كانت اكثر بعض الشيئ من الشكوى من باقي الانواع.

ومع ذلك، لا تزال هناك امور كثيرة غير واضحة. لا يوجد دليل قاطع على أن أي مرطب هو أفضل من آخر، كما أنه كان هناك تقليل في غالبية الدراسات من أهمية استخدام النتائج التي يبلغ عنها المريض، مع وجود عدد قليل جدا منها راض عن مفعول الكريمات المرطبة. كذلك لا توضح النتائج أي مرطب هو الأنسب والمفضل للاكزيمة الحادة والأكزيما المزمنة.

وباختصار، فإن القرارات حول استخدام واختيار مرطب ينبغي أن تستند إلى الأدلة المتاحة، بينما يجب وضع اعتبار لتجارب الذين يعانون من الأكزيما وأفضلياتهم ".

"إن كنت ترغب في قراءة المزيد عن النتائج العامة للبحث والاطلاع على تفاصيل عدد كبير من الدراسات المضمنة فيه، يمكنك العثور على التقرير الكامل عبر الإنترنت. اذهبوا إلى مكتبة كوكرين دوت كوم (cochranelibrary.com) مع بحث بسيط عن "الكريمات المرطبة للأكزيما".

 

Close transcript
Share/Save

Podcast: Emollients and moisturisers for eczema

Eczema is a common chronic skin disease that affects many people worldwide, and they will often turn to creams to help. In a new Cochrane Review from February 2017, Zbys Fedorowicz from Cochrane Bahrain and colleagues have brought together the relevant evidence from nearly 80 trials and we asked him to describe their findings.

- Read transcript

John: Hello, I'm John Hilton, editor of the Cochrane Editorial unit. Eczema is a common chronic skin disease that affects many people worldwide, and they will often turn to creams to help. In a new Cochrane Review from February 2017, Zbys Fedorowicz from Cochrane Bahrain and colleagues have brought together the relevant evidence from nearly 80 trials and we asked him to describe their findings.

Zbys: People with eczema suffer from dry skin, red patches and intense itch. It can lead to feelings of unattractiveness, shame, discomfort, emotional stress, and low self-esteem. Nightly itch can also cause lack of sleep, making it difficult for the sufferer to concentrate at school or at work. All in all, eczema can have a considerable negative impact on quality of life and it’s important to find effective treatments.
The dry and itchy skin caused by eczema makes it common sense to use a moisturiser and they are widely prescribed for eczema and considered a cornerstone of its treatment. However, we need to know if moisturisers really are beneficial and safe, and whether one moisturiser might be preferable to another. Applying moisturisers is time consuming, they may stick to clothes and bed linen and can leave traces on everything they touch. Some might irritate or sting, and some ingredients might lead to allergic reactions. There are many reasons, therefore, to investigate the advantages and disadvantages of moisturisers, especially if their use will be a lifelong requirement for someone with eczema; and we hope that our Cochrane Review will help people make decisions about using them.
The review covers a variety of moisturisers, with 77 trials involving more than six and a half thousand participants. The quality of the evidence varied from very low to high, but was most often low to moderate. The age of the participants ranged from 4 months to 84 years, and the severity of their eczema was mostly mild to moderate. Most of the studies directly compared two moisturisers, which provides information on which of the two is more effective but does not tell us if a moisturiser is actually beneficial by itself.
Moving to our findings: most moisturisers reduced the severity of the eczema, but the extent of this reduction wasn’t usually considered important enough for people with eczema. When compared to not using a moisturiser, moisturisers reduced the number of flares and prolonged the time to flare, which are both clinically important outcomes. Furthermore, when moisturisers were used, less topical corticosteroids were needed to reach similar improvements in eczema compared to when no moisturisers were applied. Most studies did not provide adequate information on adverse events but, where they did, the moisturisers appeared to be safe with generally no more reporting of adverse events. However, the urea-containing and oat-containing creams led to slightly more complaints of stinging and smarting.
Nevertheless, many things remain unclear. We didn’t find reliable evidence that any moisturiser is convincingly better than any other, and the importance of using patient reported outcomes was underestimated in the majority of the studies, with very few assessing satisfaction with the moisturiser. It’s also unclear which moisturiser is most suitable and preferred for acute and for chronic eczema.
In summary, decisions about the use and choice of moisturiser should be based on the available evidence, whilst taking into account the experiences and preferences of the person with eczema.

John: If you would like to read more about the overall findings of the review and the details of the large number of included studies, you can find its full report online. Just go to Cochrane Library dot com and run a simple search for ‘moisturisers for eczema’.

Close transcript
Share/Save