播客: 皮膚消毒以減少中央靜脈導管相關感染

中心靜脈導管是最廣泛使用的醫療設備之一,可以直接接觸病人的血液。然而,也可能會導致感染風險,在皮膚上使用滅菌劑消毒,是可以減少這種風險的一種方法。馬來西亞泰勒大學醫學院的赖乃鸣医生與同事一起探討相關的實證,並於2016年7月將研究結果發表於考科藍系統性文獻回顧。

Translator: Hsiu-Han Chan, Pei-Juan Wu
Recorder: Yi-Chun Shen, Chih-Hsuan Su
Organization: Cochrane Taiwan

- 阅读文字稿

中心靜脈導管是最廣泛使用的醫療設備之一,可以直接接觸病人的血液。然而,也可能會導致感染風險,在皮膚上使用滅菌劑消毒,是可以減少這種風險的一種方法。馬來西亞泰勒大學醫學院的赖乃鸣医生與同事一起探討相關的實證,並於2016年7月將研究結果發表於考科藍系統性文獻回顧。

中心靜脈導管,或簡稱CVC,是一種將液體、血液製品、藥物和腸外營養直接注入人體血液的重要設備。然而,這也會導致微生物在體內移生和擴散,而增加死亡率、罹病率和醫療成本。為了減少這些與導管相關的感染,醫護人員在插入及固定導管前,通常會使用滅菌劑,來清潔導管插入部位周圍的皮膚。
本篇系統性文獻回顧評估了使用皮膚滅菌劑作為CVC照護其中一個環節的效果,研究顯示,與沒有使用滅菌劑消毒的皮膚相比,使用滅菌劑消毒CVC插入位置周圍的皮膚,是否會降低導管血液感染,證據是不明確的。
我們收錄了13個研究,包含將近3500個CVC案例。這些研究來自八個國家,橫跨了美國、歐洲及亞洲,大多是在重症加護病房的成年人、或在其他專科醫院進行的。大多數研究評估插入導管前、和CVC固定時皮膚消毒的效益,但研究品質參差不齊,加上參與者和照護者無法盲化,是一個最主要的問題。
這些研究進行了幾項不同的比較。首先,比較皮膚殺菌與未殺菌之效益,有三項研究沒有發現導管相關血流感染、導管細菌移生,以及使用抗生素方面,有明顯差異的證據。
還有幾項不同種皮膚消毒劑之間的直接比較,最常見的是比較使用氯己定(chlorhexidine)溶液與優碘(povidone-iodine)溶液的滅菌效果。這些研究顯示,與優碘溶液相比,氯己定溶液可適度減少與導管相關的血流感染以及導管上的細菌移生。然而,目前還不清楚是否對死亡率使否有影響,因為只有一個研究報告了這一點,儘管觀察到使用氯己定和優碘有類似的死亡率,但是研究數目很少,意味著並不能排除有差異性的可能。
其他皮膚滅菌劑的評估,都是單一、小樣本的研究,其中還有許多研究沒有報告導管相關血流感染的主要結果、或其他重要的結果指標,如皮膚感染和不良事件。
總而言之,與不使用皮膚滅菌劑相比,尚不清楚使用皮膚滅菌劑是否能減少導管感染。與使用優碘溶液消毒相比,使用氯己定溶液進行皮膚消毒可能可以減少導管相關流感染率和導管上細菌移生率。然而,這些結果是基於證據品質非常低的研究證據,也意味著真正的效果可能是非常不同的;並且,滅菌劑的性質,即,是否使用水性或酒精溶劑,也可能會得到不同的結果。未來需要進一步的研究,來評估不同皮膚消毒劑的有效性和安全性,並應該測量關鍵的臨床結果,如敗血症、導管相關血流感染和死亡率等。

如果您想了解更多相關的實證,或者在未來這些試驗完成時,觀看更新的結果,您可以到線上考科藍圖書館(Cochrane library)找到完整版本。請至考科藍圖書館官網搜索“skin antisepsis”。

关闭文字稿
Share/Save

Podcast: Skin antisepsis for reducing central venous catheter-related infections

One of the most widely used devices in medicine is the central venous catheter, allowing direct access to a patient’s blood stream. However, it can cause infections and the use of antiseptics on the skin is one way to minimise this risk. Nai Ming Lai from the School of Medicine in Taylor's University in Malaysia has worked with colleagues to examine the relevant evidence and led the Cochrane Review, published in July 2016.

- Read transcript

John: Hello, I'm John Hilton, editor of the Cochrane Editorial unit. One of the most widely used devices in medicine is the central venous catheter, allowing direct access to a patient’s blood stream. However, it can cause infections and the use of antiseptics on the skin is one way to minimise this risk. Nai Ming Lai from the School of Medicine in Taylor's University in Malaysia has worked with colleagues to examine the relevant evidence and led the Cochrane Review, published in July 2016.

Nai Ming: The central venous catheter, or CVC, is an important device for administering fluids, blood products, medications and parenteral nutrition directly into a person’s blood. However, by providing a way for micro-organisms to colonise and spread inside the body it can increase mortality, morbidities and the costs of health care. In order to try to reduce these catheter-related infections, healthcare staff often use antiseptic solutions to clean the skin around the catheter insertion site, both prior to insertion and whilst the catheter is in place.
Our review assesses the effects of skin antisepsis as part of CVC care and has shown that it is not clear whether this cleaning of the skin around CVC insertion sites reduces catheter related blood stream infection compared with no skin cleansing.
We included 13 studies, with a total of nearly 3500 CVCs. The studies were from 8 countries across America, Europe and Asia, and were mostly done with adults in intensive care units or other specialist hospital units. Most studies assessed skin antisepsis before insertion and while the CVC was in place, but the quality was mixed, with blinding of the participants and carers being a major problem.
The studies had made several different comparisons. The first of which was skin antisepsis against no skin antisepsis, and the three studies found no evidence of clear differences in catheter related blood stream infections, colonisation of the catheter and need for antibiotics.
There were also several head-to-head comparisons between different skin antiseptic agents. The most common comparison was chlorhexidine solution versus povidone-iodine solution as active substances. These studies showed that chlorhexidine solution may modestly reduce catheter related blood stream infections as well as catheter colonisation compared with povidone-iodine solution. However, it is unclear whether there was an effect on mortality rates as only one study reported this, and although similar death rates were observed with chlorhexidine and povidone iodine, the small numbers mean that a difference cannot be ruled out.
Evaluations of other skin antiseptic agents were generally made in single, small studies, many of which did not report our primary outcome of catheter-related blood stream infection, or other important outcomes such as skin infections and adverse events.
In summary, it is unclear whether skin antisepsis reduces catheter related blood stream infection compared with no skin antisepsis. Skin antisepsis using chlorhexidine solution may reduce rates of catheter related blood stream infection and colonisation compared with antisepsis using povidone iodine. However, these findings are based on very low quality evidence, which means the true effects may be very different; and the results may be influenced by the nature of the antiseptic base solution, namely, whether an aqueous or alcohol-based solution is used. Further trials are needed to assess the effectiveness and safety of different skin antisepsis regimens and these should measure critical clinical outcomes such as sepsis, catheter-related blood stream infections and mortality.

John: If you would like to read more about the current evidence, or to watch for future updates of this review should these trials be done, you can find the full version online in the Cochrane Library. Got to Cochrane library dot com and search ‘skin antisepsis’.

Close transcript
Share/Save