博客: 母乳哺育能否減輕出生1至12個月嬰兒接種疫苗之疼痛?

在出生后的第一年,婴儿可能会需要接种很多疫苗,这对于公共卫生来说至关重要。但是接种所带来的疼痛可能会给婴儿和他们的父母带来困扰。在2016年10月最新的Cochrane评价中,来自加拿大渥太华大学的Denise Harrison及其同事们研究了母乳喂养是否可以减轻此类疼痛。他们的研究成果见本博客内容。来自渥太华大学的在读护理博士胡嘉乐翻译并录制了这段博客音频

- 阅读文字稿

在出生后的第一年,婴儿可能会需要接种很多疫苗,这对于公共卫生来说至关重要。但是接种所带来的疼痛可能会给婴儿和他们的父母带来困扰。在2016年10月最新的Cochrane评价中,来自加拿大渥太华大学的Denise Harrison及其同事们研究了母乳喂养是否可以减轻此类疼痛。他们的研究成果见本博客内容。来自渥太华大学的在读护理博士胡嘉乐翻译并录制了这段博客音频.

你好,我是胡嘉乐,来自渥太华大学。在出生后的第一年,婴儿可能会需要接种很多疫苗,这对于公共卫生来说至关重要。但是接种所带来的疼痛可能会给婴儿和他们的父母带来困扰。在2016年10月最新的Cochrane评价中,来自加拿大渥太华大学的Denise Harrison及其同事们研究了母乳喂养是否可以减轻此类疼痛。他们的研究成果见本博客内容。
在开始着手Cochrane评价前,根据早期的评价,该研究团队已获知母乳喂养可减轻新生儿在打针或采血诊疗过程中的疼痛,但是对于一岁以下较大的婴儿,这种方法是否有效,该团队尚不知晓。如果母乳喂养可以减轻这部分婴儿在打针或其他诊疗过程中的疼痛,那么疫苗接种就会变得更容易,因此该团队的目标是对母乳喂养是否可以减轻1~12个月大的婴儿疼痛的证据进行评价。
该团队发现了10组试验,试验对象总计近1100名的婴儿。其中8组进行的是随机对照试验,另外2组为非完全随机对照试验。印度和伊朗各有3组试验,另有2组来自土耳其,加拿大和约旦各有1组。所有试验的研究目的都是针对疫苗接种期间的母乳喂养。
测量疼痛的方法主要是依据婴儿的啼哭时间和疼痛评分。该团队发现,相比拥抱婴儿或将婴儿放在诊疗台上,母乳喂养可降低婴儿啼哭时间和疼痛评分。这在临床上很重要,说明在打针过程中,可以通过母乳喂养来减轻婴儿的疼痛感和压力。并且,这些研究都没有提到母乳喂养期间出现如咳嗽或窒息等不良反应,也没有提到婴儿是否拒绝母乳的情况。
该团队评价了疫苗接种期间母乳喂养减轻疼痛效果的证据质量,在降低婴儿(特别是0~6个月的婴儿)疼痛评分和啼哭时间方面为中等水平。这些发现也为世界卫生组织有关建议如果在文化传统可接受的情况下,疫苗接种期间对婴儿进行母乳喂养的立场声明提供了支持。但对于6~12个月稍微大一点的婴儿,由于证据非常少,母乳喂养的效果仍不太确定。
综上所述,如果妈妈们采用的是母乳喂养方式,这将在给婴儿打针的时候可以通过哺乳来减轻婴儿的疼痛。如果没有采用母乳喂养方式,或不愿意在给婴儿打针的时候进行哺乳,则其他的系统评价也可以有所帮助,因为使用少量的糖水也被研究显示可以帮助减轻婴儿的疼痛。

如果你希望获得更多关于母乳喂养在疼痛治疗过程中的证据以及Denise提到的其他评价,可以登录Cochrane Library.com,搜索‘procedural pain in infants’.

关闭文字稿
共享/保存

Podcast: Does breastfeeding reduce vaccination pain in babies aged 1 to 12 months?

In their first year of life, babies are likely to receive many vaccinations, which are vital for public health. However, the experience can be painful and distressing for the babies and their parents. In a new Cochrane Review from October 2016, Denise Harrison from the University of Ottawa in Canada and colleagues examined the research into whether breastfeeding might reduce this pain. She tells us what they found in this podcast.

- Read transcript

John: Hello, I'm John Hilton, editor of the Cochrane Editorial unit. In their first year of life, babies are likely to receive many vaccinations, which are vital for public health. However, the experience can be painful and distressing for the babies and their parents. In a new Cochrane Review from October 2016, Denise Harrison from the University of Ottawa in Canada and colleagues examined the research into whether breastfeeding might reduce this pain. She tells us what they found in this podcast.

Denise: When we embarked on this Cochrane Review we already knew from an earlier review that breastfeeding newborn babies reduces pain during injections or blood work, but we didn’t know if this was true for older babies, up to one year old. If breastfeeding is effective at reducing pain during painful injections and other procedures for these babies, this might make it easier to achieve the public health gains from vaccination and so we aimed to review the evidence on whether breastfeeding reduced pain in babies aged from 1 to 12 months.
We found 10 trials which included nearly 1100 babies. Eight of the trials were randomised, and two were quasi-randomised. There were three trials each from India and Iran, two from Turkey and one each from Canada and Jordan. All trials investigated breastfeeding during vaccination.
The main ways pain was measured was the time babies spent crying and pain scores. We found that breastfeeding, compared to holding, or laying the baby on the examination table led to less crying time and lower pain scores. This is clinically important because it shows that we have a way to reduce pain and stress for babies who are breastfeeding, during injections. However, none of the studies reported on adverse effects, such as coughing or choking while breastfeeding and no studies reported if babies refused to breastfeed. 
We assessed the quality of the evidence for pain reducing effects of breastfeeding during vaccination as moderate for reducing pain scores and crying time, especially in infants up to six months of age. These findings support The World Health Organization (WHO) position statement which recommends breastfeeding babies during vaccination where culturally acceptable and feasible. But we’re less sure about the effects for babies aged 6 to 12 months because there was much less evidence for these older babies.
In conclusion, if mothers are breastfeeding their babies, this can be done during injections to reduce pain for the baby. If mothers are not breastfeeding, or prefer not to breastfeed during the injection, other systematic reviews can still help as these have shown that small amounts of sugar water reduce babies’ pain.

John: If you would like to read more about the evidence for breastfeeding during painful procedures, and to find the other reviews that Denise mentioned, all you need to do is go online to Cochrane Library dot com and search ‘procedural pain in infants’.

Close transcript
Share/Save